Nerves of Steel and Baby Steps

With the end of the semester quickly approaching, I can’t help but feel the stress kick in. It’s strange because, out of the years that I’ve been here at my university, this one has been by far the lightest. While most of my courses have been intensely science, physics, biology, and calculus based, this year has been ridiculously focused on communication. Instead of finals and quizzes, I have large amounts of group projects and presentations. Most people would love this, but as someone who has an intense fear of public speaking, I would gladly take a cumulative exam in its place.

However, the end of the tunnel is within view! It ‘s exciting and terrifying all at the same time. This summer will be bringing enormous amounts of change; I am living in an apartment for the first time with one of my best friends. Specifically, we both are moving towards another branch of the University of Minnesota in order to finish our minors. To save money, I have been living with my parents who conveniently reside in the same town as my university. Moving out, living on my own, paying bills, fending for myself entirely… it’s all terrifying but necessary. I guess this is another step towards official “adulthood.”

Leave a Reply

